“So you’re ‘daddy day care’?”

You know, the truth is that line could be any number of things. “Mr. Mom”, “baby sitter”, “Dad-mom”, or any number of other things. This is what people have said to me in the past, and “daddy day care” is just the most recent one.

By now I’m sure you’ve all heard the news–stay-at-home-dads are on the rise, there are 2-3 times as many of us as there were 10 years ago, we’re generally pretty happy to be doing what we’re doing–that’s all true. It’s tempting to write that there’s a lot more to who I am and what I do than the old, preconceived notions about being a stay-at-home-dad or even this new understanding of who we are. However, I’m really not sure that’s true. To be sure, I am a freelance writer and editor, self-acknowledged geek, bread-baker, sometime amateur actor, aficionado of both books and board games, and a lover of my wife and son.

When it comes down to it though, what I really am is a father, or more generally speaking–and perhaps more significantly–I am a parent. That’s all I do as a stay-at-home-dad. I parent. It’s nothing more noble, demeaning, or really even more complicated than that. While I’m busy parenting though, I want to share what it is to be me and the things I discover along the way–whether that’s a great new book/game/movie/cd for kids and families, the latest crazy or entertaining thing that has happened to me while I’m parenting, or even just some insight into how we can all be better parents, I hope you can find it here.

If you’re still along for the ride, feel free to find me on facebook (facebook.com/mommyisatwork) or twitter (twitter.com/mommyisatwork), and let me know what you think along the way.

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on ““So you’re ‘daddy day care’?”

  1. Cathy Griffith says:

    Hey, BJ! Congratulations on so many things, parenting, writing, blogging, etc. I believe you and Emily are a wonderful example of how all of this just works.

  2. Jessie says:

    🙂 🙂 This is going to be fun, BJ.

  3. Mark R Ford says:

    I have always hated hearing dads say that they are “babysitting” their own child. If it is someone else’s child then it is babysitting but I do not babysit my son. He is my child, I helped make him and it is my responsibility to help parent him not just Amy’s job, so parenting is part of what I do.

    • I couldn’t agree more! Thanks for reading Mark!

    • Dude, that freakin’ irks me too! Why not just say, “Yeah, sometimes my kid gets in the way of me being a real man, so I have to change diapers or play with my kid instead of going to Dave & Busters or watching the game with the boys.” There’s nothing more manly than giving of yourself so that this precious child knows what a REAL man does! Good for you man!

Leave a Reply

